How Safiya Bukhari changed my life.

The War Before: The True Life Story of Becoming a Black Panther, Keeping the Faith in Prison, and Fighting for Those Left BehindThe War Before: The True Life Story of Becoming a Black Panther, Keeping the Faith in Prison, and Fighting for Those Left Behind by Safiya Bukhari
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

If there was one book that changed my life, it is this. I was lost in my life the mid-2000s, and had lived until then for my own personal gains. I found a review for this book in the Brooklyn Rail sometime in 2006, and decided to give it a try. Reading this book and learning what really happened to the freedom fighters, and Safiya’s lifelong fight for those left behind, I was violently shook awaken. It was from then, that I began to fight the system, regardless of who I was going against. I have fought a battle with the Japanese Ministry of Justice for close to 8 years now, as well as various administrative tyrants that I have encountered in everyday life. If it wasn’t for Safiya, I would not be in university right now, applying to a JD / PhD program next year. If it wasn’t for Safiya, I would have been dead by now due to drug use, homicide, or suicide. I owe what I have to Safiya, and what she left, the fight where we have picked up to continue.

Thank you Safiya. You are my savior.

PS:
My pen name is from a quote of Safiya, from an essay in this book.

“We seem to have forgotten everything we ever learned about revolution: that it’s about the people. It’s about making qualitative and quantitative changes in the conditions of our people.”
— Safiya Bukhari

Delta = Change
Q = Qualitative
Q = Quantitative

Delta Q x Q = Delta Q Squared

View all my reviews

One response to “How Safiya Bukhari changed my life.

  1. Pingback: Free Mumia! « deltaqsquared

Leave a Reply

